Householding Clients

Householding Clients

Assigning Clients to a Household allows you to view their combined data within the Platform. Clients can only belong to one Household at a time. By default, each unique tax ID is considered its own household.

Clients or Accounts can also be householded from within the Billing section of the platform. Billing Households and Performance Households are different entities within the Wealth Platform. See Create Billing Households for more details.

Creating a Household

  1. Navigate to Run Business > Grouping.
  2. In the Create New Household enter a Name for the Household.
  3. Optional: Click the Action drop-down and select Toggle All/Ungrouped to view only Clients that do not belong to a Household already.
  4. Locate the Client(s) that should belong to the new Household and drag them or use the add control to move them into the Create New Household box. (If the Client already belongs to a Household, you will receive a warning that this will remove them from the existing Household.)
  5. Click + Create at the bottom to establish the new Household.
  6. Select whether the household should exist for Performance reporting, Billing purposes, or both.

Creating Households in Bulk

It is possible to take any number of Clients and create Households for each en masse. Each selected Client will be added to their own new Household with the same name as the Client.

  1. Navigate to Run Business > Grouping.
  2. Optional: Click the Action drop-down and click Toggle All/Ungrouped to view only Clients that do not belong to a Household already.
  3. Using the selection boxes at the front of the rows, mark all the Clients you wish to create Households for.
  4. Click the Action drop-down and click Convert each selected Client into a separate Household.

Viewing Existing Households and Members

Existing Households are viewed in Manage Clients > Dashboard > Household.

Members of an existing Household are viewed in the detail view of a Household. Select a Household from the Manage Clients Dashboard and use the Relationship Ribbon when viewing the details of a Household to see all existing relationships. See Managing Clients > Overview Tab.

Editing an Existing Household

Editing a Household Name

  1. Navigate to Manage Clients > Dashboard > Household.
  2. Locate the Household you want to edit the name for.
  3. In the Action column, click Edit Household from the drop-down menu.
  4. Edit the Name field in the upper left.
  5. Click Save at the bottom to commit your changes.

Adding Members: Starting from the Client to be added

  1. Navigate to Run Business > Grouping.
  2. Optional: Click the Action drop-down and click Toggle All/Ungrouped to view only Clients that do not belong to a Household already.
  3. Locate the Client you want to add to an existing Household.
  4. Click the link control on the Client’s row.
  5. Use the Search box to locate the Household you want to add the Client to.
  6. Use the move control on the Household you want to add the Client to.
  7. Click Save at the bottom to commit your changes.

Adding Members: Starting from the Household to add to

  1. Navigate to Manage Clients > Dashboard > Household.
  2. Locate the Household you want to edit the name for.
  3. In the Action column, click Edit Household from the drop-down menu.
  4. Use the Search box to locate the Client(s) to add to the Household.
  5. Use the move control on the Client(s) you want to add to the Household.
  6. Click Save at the bottom to commit your changes.

Removing Members

  1. Navigate to Manage Clients > Dashboard > Household.
  2. Locate the Household you want to edit the name for.
  3. In the Action column, click Edit Household from the drop-down menu.
  4. On the right, use the remove control on the Client(s) you want to remove from the Household.
  5. Click Save at the bottom to commit your changes.

Removing a Household

This process will only remove the Household grouping, it will not delete any Clients.

  1. Navigate to Manage Clients > Dashboard > Household.
  2. Locate and open the Household you want to remove.
  3. On the Relationship Ribbon, click Edit Relationship Ribbon.
  4. In the bottom right, click Delete Household. You will be asked to confirm the action.
    • Related Articles

    • Manage Clients > Overview Tab

      The Overview tab summarizes the personal and financial information of a client. Note that the data and even available widgets will vary depending on whether you are in Household, Client, or Account view. (See Manage Clients Dashboard Overview for ...
    • Manage Clients Dashboard Overview

      The Manage Clients Dashboard (Manage Clients > Dashboard) is where you can access a broad array of all client information from platform or portal. It is viewable at the Household, Client, or Account level. Dashboard Overview Level Views Switch which ...
    • Manage Clients > Performance Tab

      The Performance widget allows you to view performance across all or selected accounts in a number of different available views. Performance reporting is broken down into four sub-tabs, detailed below: Performance History Performance Overview ...
    • Managing Clients > Performance > Performance Details

      The Performance Details sub-tab of the Performance widget gives you several paths to drill down into performance data and includes additional options and controls. View Controls The following view controls are available in Performance Details: Select ...
    • Manage Clients > Operational Tab

      Operational Summary See the progress and status of all opportunities relating to the account, client, or household. Notifications Display any alerts specific for the Household, Client, or Account selected. This functions as a filtered view of the ...