End-Client User Management

End-Client User Management

End-Client access to the Client Portal is automatic for anyone who has gone through the prospect flow and created a profile for themselves. For clients who have had accounts opened through the Advisor-led process, access to the Client Portal must be turned on from within the platform by an Admin or Advisor.

Enabling Client Portal Access for End-Clients

Clients who opened accounts themselves through the Client Portal will already have access to the Portal. For others brought on through Advisor-led account opening or who opened accounts that were later imported to AdvisorEngine, perform the following steps to enable Client Portal access:

  1. Navigate to Run Business > User Management > End-Client Access.
  2. Locate the client in the list. You can filter to see only Clients without User using the drop-down in the upper left.
  3. Click Create User in the Actions column of the client’s row. The End-Client User Settings window will open.
  4. Enter a User ID for the client (must be a valid email address).
  5. Click Create.

The client receives an email like this, encouraging them to log in to their new client portal:


Note: The link is valid for only 12 hours. If the Client does not register before it expires, you will need to repeat this process.

Editing Client Portal Settings Per-User

Once a client exists as an End-Client User, you can edit individual settings for their Client Portal if needed. To make Per-User changes for the Client Portal:

  1. Navigate to Run Business > User Management > End-Client Access.
  2. Locate the client to edit in the list. You can filter to see only Existing End-Client Users using the drop-down in the upper left.
  3. Click the settings gear in the Actions column of the client’s row. The End-Client User Settings window will open.
  4. Adjust any settings as needed:
    • First Name, Last Name: Name that appears on the Client Portal.
    Note: Name changes here only affect the Platform. You will need to make the same change with the Custodian as well.
    • User ID: Manually update the end-client’s email address.
    • Active User: Manually enable or disable the end-client’s access to the Client Portal.
    • Reset Password: Send the User ID an email to create a new password. The link in the email will be valid for 12 hours.
    • Monte Carlo Preferences: Override the OWM settings for Monte Carlo acceptance.
    • Robo Eligible?: By default all accounts will be Robo Eligible. Clear the checkbox for any accounts that you do not want the User to be able to manage themselves on the Client Portal.
    • Access: Override the OWM settings for access to sections of Client Portal.
    • Delete: Completely remove the User. Cannot be undone.
  5. Click Save when all changes are made.

Ony changes made to override the Client Portal settings will affect the experience of only the End-Client User you edit.

    • Related Articles

    • Client Portal (OWM) Settings

      OWM stands for Online Wealth Management, another term for your Client Portal. Many of these settings will be established by your Onboarding Engineer in onboarding, but you can always come to this section to make edits and changes to the existing ...
    • Removing Invoices from Client View

      It is possible to remove a published invoice from a client’s view in the Client Portal. Navigate to Manage Clients > Dashboard. Using the Account, Client, or Household tabs along with the Search options, locate the client or account you want to ...
    • Changing a Client's Login Email

      If a client changes their email address, there are a few places you’ll need to update that for the client in the Platform so they can begin logging into the Client Portal with their new email address. Be sure to complete all the steps below when ...
    • Unlocking a User for Failed Login Attempts

      If a User becomes locked out for failed password attempts, an administrative User can unlock all currently locked users with the following process: Navigate to Run Business > User Management. Click Unlock All in the upper right. Note: This will also ...
    • Deleting a Wealth Platform User

      To remove a Wealth Platform User: Navigate to Run Business > User Management > Users. Locate the User to delete and click the delete control at the end of the row. Confirm the action by clicking Ok in the pop-up. Warning! This cannot be undone!