Deleting a Record or Person

Deleting a Record or Person

It is possible to delete Records or remove Persons from a Record in AdvisorEngine CRM. However in many situations it is better to file or archive information rather than deleting it from your system.

Before you delete, consider the following possibilities:

  • Is this Record no longer needed due to a marriage or other partnership?
  • Is this a duplicate Record?

If so, consider using the Merge Record tool to pull together all the information into a single Record rather than deleting.

  • Is this an ex-client?
  • Is this a deceased client?
  • Is this a failed prospect?
  • Is this any other kind of Record that was active but no longer associated with the firm?

If so, consider changing the Classification of the Record from Client to Ex-Client or something similar. It will remain in the database if historical data is needed (for an audit) but can easily be filtered from your daily work.

Deleting a Record

If none of the above is applicable, follow these steps to delete a Record.

  1. Open the Record you wish to delete.
  2. Click Tools > Delete record.
  3. Confirm the operation by clicking Delete Record in the pop-up.
Note: If you deleted a Record in error, you can Restore Deleted Records from the Record Workspace command bar.

Removing a Person

Before deleting Person information, first consider as above it is appropriate to merge the person into an existing Record or split the person off into a new Record that is then archived for data continutity. Note that if the Person you are removing is linked to multiple Records, the Person will not be deleted, just no longer linked to the Record it is removed from.

To remove a Person from a Record:

  1. Open a Record that the Person is associated with.
  2. Navigate to Tools > Record Settings > Remove Person.
  3. Select the Person to remove and click CONFIRM.