Making Changes to the Service Monitor

Making Changes to the Service Monitor

Editing Service Levels, Services, or Mappings

Any Service Level, Service, or Mapping can be edited by clicking Edit on its line item in Service Monitor Setup (Settings > Service Monitor). Once changes have been made, click Add to confirm the changes.

Propagation of Edits

Since the Service Monitor is made up of many parts that operate together, it’s important to understand how changes in one area will affect others. The following list will help you predict the impact of changes made to any area.

  • Service Level: Editing the name of the Service Level does not affect the function of the level at all. The name is updated anywhere it is in use.
  • Service: Editing a Service definition does not change the definition of any existing Mappings. Changes are reflected the next time a Mapping is created using that Service.
  • Mappings: Editing a Mapping definition affects all Records with the assigned Service Level, provided the Service is still connected to the Mapping (See Customizing Services at the Record Level to see how Services can become disconnected from a Mapping).
  • Workflow Templates: Editing a Workflow Template that is used in any Service Mapping causes the updated Workflow Template to be used the next time the Service Monitor triggers that Workflow.

Deleting Service Levels, Services, or Mappings

Any Service Level, Service, or Mapping can be deleted by clicking Delete on its line item in Service Monitor Setup.

Propagation of Deletions

Since the Service Monitor is made up of many parts that operate together, it’s important to understand how changes in one area affects others. The following list will help you predict the impact of changes made to any area.

  • Service Level: You are unable to delete any Service Levels that are currently in use in any area.
  • Service: You are unable to delete any Service that is currently mapped to any Service Level. Deleting a Service that is in use on an individual Record but not in any active Mapping removes it from that Record without any warning.
  • Mappings: Deleting a Mapping removes it from all Records with the assigned Service Level, provided the Service is still connected to the Mapping (See Customizing Services at the Record Level to see how Services can become disconnected from a Mapping).
  • Workflow Templates: It is possible to decommission or delete a Workflow Template that is actively assigned to a Mapping. The system does not warn or stop you from doing this. Be aware of which Workflow Templates are in use when deleting any to avoid any unintended effects in the Service Monitor.